Find Acupuncture CEUs for your State
Welcome to Acupuncture Continuing Education or ACE
Acupuncture CEUs Requirements by board and state are listed below for your reference. NCCAOM PDA courses can be taken for most states such as Texas, Oregon, Washington and many others. For California or Florida, you will find your state requirements on this page. Feel free to click around and find out what acupuncture CEUs you need to be up to date. Also keep in mind, most states accept NCCAOM requirements for acupuncture continuing education & acupuncture license renewal.
NCCAOM Recertification Requirements:
Provider # 1208
NCCAOM courses can be taken for most states such as Texas, Washington, Oregon, Virginia, Maryland, Minnesota, Massachusetts, Colorado, Arizona, and many others. Please note specific state CEU requirement may differ in terms of the amount of credits needed and the length of the renewal period compared to NCCAOM requirements. NCCAOM Acupuncture Continuing Education courses may also be completed for the CTCMA of British Columbia (Canada).
60 PDA points or Acupuncture CEUs are required in a four year recertification cycle. Acupuncture CEU or PDA points may not be submitted twice during a recertification cycle nor may they be carried over from one cycle to another.
Core Competency PDA points are given for active learning that is conducted in a classroom or online in specific areas. All 60 points may be earned in the Core Competency section.
**These credits may also be used for the CTCMA of British Columbia (Canada) – a maximum of 16 Hours per reporting period may be obtained through distance learning courses or webinars.
60 Acupuncture CEUs or PDA every 4 years:
26 PDA minimum up to 56 of AOM & Biomedicine.
2 PDA of Safety
2 PDA of Ethics
CPR Course in addition to the above 60 credits every 4 years.
California Acupuncture Recertification Requirements:
Provider # 1304
50 CEUs needed every 2 years before the last day of your birthday month.
25 Acupuncture CEUs may be completed through distance learning or online courses. Only 5 CEUs may be obtained in Category 2, which is defined below. The other half of Acupuncture CEUs (25), or all of them, may be obtained in person or through a live webinar.
To renew your California license, a fee of $325 must be submitted with the renewal notice every 2 years in order to maintain your license. Licensees practicing with a license that is expired are subject to disciplinary action and an extra fee.
Category 1 Courses: “Courses related to clinical matters or the actual provision of health care to patients.” Subjects include Acupuncture/TCM, western bio-medicine, nutrition, etc. Please view the California course criteria page for more information
Category 2 Courses: Non-patient related subjects such as business, law, practice management, etc.
Here is the break down of the 50 Credits:
25 credits Distance Learning (ex. Online Reading Material).
25 Credits Have to be Live (ex. Class face to face interaction, or Live Webinar).
5 credits out of the 50 could be business or practice management courses (Category 2).